it must be.

Lukewarm and silky, the water kissed my cheeks,

Brushed the sleep from my eyes, lifted the corners of my lips.

 

A step out, a frozen gasp, the bitter chills.

Old insecurity seeps out, new insecurity seeps in.

 

The water dries up, the pressure of heat 

Pressing onto my shoulders, I bend,

 

I break. Piece myself together, become the puzzle,

Fragmented but whole. Sweet dismemberment, tender deceit.

 

Crawl back – crawl back to the pool,

A toe first, then a leg. Submerged, the realization:

 

It was all in your mind, the heat a passing dalliance.

The water must be/it must be/it has to be.

Leave a Reply

