Cuts

I am your bedpost,

You cut into me, you leave nicks

You leave grooves.

 

Shallow, deep, permanent.

The years have changed my hues

And I darken into maroon.

 

At least I’m not just a notch,

You’ve left a multitude of scars,

I am not just a mark.

 

Paint me a future,

The brush cuts like glass

And leaves a see-through valley.

 

Give me a ring,

I’ll give you resistance, but please

Break me down.

 

I am your bedpost,

For as long as you’ll have me.

I am your bedpost until you throw me out.

One thought on “Cuts

Leave a Reply

